Villagers bag unexpected victory

WILLOUGBY’S batting woes reached a new low in Division One as an embarrassing batting display condemned them to defeat at Preston Capes.

Prospects of success initially looked promising for the visitors as Tom Hill (five for 26) and James Barnwell (three for 42) bowled Willoughby into a potentially winning position, as Preston Capes were skittled out for a total of 73.

However if the home side’s innings raised the eyebrows, the real carnage was about to unfold.

Having witnessed an unpredictable pitch in that first innings, Willoughby did not take any heed of the situation and rash batting first reduced the visitors to 13 for six and in all sorts of trouble.

Stuart Hall only made 16 and Alex Strong returned figures of eight for 11 for Capes as they bowled WCC out for a total of 43, giving the home side an unexpected victory by 31 runs.

The news was no better at The Green as Willoughby A also slumped to an embarrassing defeat at home to bottom-of-the-table 10-man Finmere in Division Three.

Batting first, the visitor’s opening partnership somehow evaded the Willoughby fielders’ hands to establish what was ultimately a crucial foundation.

Ryan Perry (one for 32) broke the deadlock via the first of two dismissals behind the stumps for young wicketkeeper Ben Hollis who again put in a good show with the gloves.

John Gregson’s fine spell of spin was more suited to the task and was reflected in figures of four for 32 from 12 overs, including a superlative behind-the-head catch from Perry.

A J Mohammed also took two for 20 as Finmere were pegged back in the second half of their innings to close on 152 for seven.

In reply and with all things considered, against 10 of varying ages in the field, some careful thoughtful batting could and should have led the home side to victory.

As it was, having started reasonably well, some loose batting plus two great catches led to an alarming quick succession of wickets falling.

With WCC 52 for six, skipper Karl Harland was again called upon to steady the ship but once he had departed for 25 so realistically went Willoughby’s chances of surviving.

Hughes took five for 48 and Chalcraft five for 17 dividing the honours between them as WCC were bowled out for 95, losing by 57 runs.

Flecknoe Firsts snatched a victory against Brackley Seconds by 35 runs.

Despite extremely windy conditions, Flecknoe got back to winning ways away at Brackley in an incredibly hard-fought game.

Having won the toss and elected to bowl, the Brackley bowlers made the most of the variable bounce of the track, taking early wickets.

A hard-fought 22 from Binder and fantastic late-order hitting from Morris (22 not out), including a huge six straight into the neighbouring compound, allowed Flecknoe to reach 127, the pick of the Brackley bowlers was Roger Doom.

Bar none the Flecknoe players then responded admirably to the task ahead, excelling once again in the field, and the bowling attack cutting through the Brackley batting line, McAllion taking three-25, Pewtress three-34, leaving the opposition 92 all out.

Other results for Saturday, May 28

Premier Division

Byfield (265 for four – 20 pts) beat Marston St Lawrence (114 all out – three pts) by 151 runs

Byfield: Steve Clayton 86, Andy Watts 60 n.o., Darren Franklin 43, Duncan Harris 37, Graham Hall two-42.

Marston St Lawrence: Nick Hall 35, Kurtis James 19 n.o., Owen Griffiths 19, Darren Franklin three-14, Jake Heath three-15, Jon Carr two-22 and Paul Wills two-31.

Division One

Preston Capes (73 all out – 20 pts) beat Willoughby (42 all out – five pts) by 31 runs

Preston Capes: Alex Strong 30, Tom Hill five-26, James Barnwell three-42.

Willoughby: Stuart Hall 16, Alex Strong eight-11, Anthony Franks two-25.

Division Two

Byfield ‘A’ (121 for five – 20 pts) beat Wroxton (120 all out – three pts) by five wickets.

Byfield ‘A’: Kevin Moyce 47, Wayne Nortje 25, Lloyd Parkinson 20 n.o., Talib Hussain two-22.

Wroxton: Naz Hussain 41, Zia Najib 18, Amjad Hussain 16.

Division Three

Charlton (214 for five – 20 pts) beat Preston Capes ‘A’ (127 for nine – six pts) by 87 runs.

Charlton: Brian Taylor 86, Graham Knight 36, Sam Reeve two-58, Kyle Kalym two-58.

Preston Capes ‘A’: Chay Kalym 73 n.o., Ryan Knight four-32 and Richard Taylor two-34.

Gayton (77 for four – 20 pts) beat Gawcott and Hillesden (75 for nine – four pts) by six wickets.

Gayton: Cameron Waldron 55 N.O., Chris Reeve 14, Colin Piggott 2-28, Nick Stanger 2-31

Gawcott and Hillesden Alex Piggott 26, Colin Piggott 18, Neil Bobsin four-four and Toby Drayton four-25.

Division Four

Boddington (54 for five – 20 pts) beat Helmdon (53 all out – three pts) by five wickets.

Boddington: Calvin Jones 16, Graham Parrish 10 n.o., Craig Jones 10, Chris Lipson three-15, Richard Allee two-19.

Helmdon: Chris Lipson 12, John Conroy 11, Jamie Reeves six-11 and Craig Jones two-19.

Woodford Halse ‘A’ (231 for eight – 20 pts) beat Radway ‘A’ (78 all out – six pts) by 153 runs.

Woodford Halse ‘A’: Paul Shrimpton 88, Dean Haynes 58, Chris Prophet 26 n.o., and Bertie Fox two-20.

Radway ‘A’: Dave Randall 44, Dean Haynes three-21 and Terry Hulme two-12.

Braunston Paddox (50 for four – 20 pts) beat Maids Moreton (49 all out – two pts) by six wickets.

Braunston Paddox: Ryan Spriggs 25, Dan Allen two-14, Adam Davis two-15

Maids Moreton: Ryan Spriggs five-11 and Zane Doe three-seven.

Division Five

Flecknoe (127 all out – 20 pts) beat Brackley (92 all out – seven pts) by 35 runs.

Flecknoe: Simon Morris 22, Matt Binder 22, Rohan Cook five-28, Ian Harris two-30.

Brackley: Ian Harris 28, Andy Lawrie 14, Tom Pewtress three-34, Dan McAllion three-25, Matt Binder two-10 and Mark Adkins two-15.

Middleton ‘A’ (163 for seven – 20 pts) beat Braunston Paddox ‘A’ (161 for five – eight pts) by three wickets.

Middleton Cheney ‘A’ : Neil Hillman 55, Andy Mayo 18 n.o., Barry Hook 16, Karl Shingler four-52.

Braunston Paddox ‘A’ : Josh Drinkwater 41 n.o., Steve Rolt 35, Chris Lodge 19, Ben Turner three-13.

Priors (197 all out – 20 pts) beat Evenley ‘B’ (103 for nine – eight pts) by 94 runs.

Priors: Clive Turner 66, Wayne Davies 37, Sam Higgs 23, Simon Walker four-39 and Sam Holden three-34.

Evenley ‘B’: Vic Guse 33 n.o., David Hamblin four-nine and Rob Daykin four-14.