Wood to skipper Barbarians against Saints

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

This article contains affiliate links. We may earn a small commission on items purchased through this article, but that does not affect our editorial judgement.

Saints legend Tom Wood will lead out Barbarian F.C. at cinch Stadium at Franklin’s Gardens for Saturday's clash between the two sides (kick-off 3pm).

And Luther Burrell will also be part of the BaaBaas side as he starts at centre in his final game in the UK before he heads to Japan.

The world-famous invitational side will lock horns with the black, green and gold for the first time in history.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

And with Saints close to full strength for the exhibition match, the BaaBaas have selected a side packed with star quality to run out in Northampton.

Tom WoodTom Wood
Tom Wood

Wood captains the team and lines up in the No.8 jersey, alongside Cardiff Rugby flanker Olly Robinson and former Wasps back row Ben Morris.

Elliott Stooke and Graham Kitchener – formerly of Wasps and Worcester Warriors respectively – are selected in the engine room.

An explosive front row includes Scotland international Murray McCallum, All Black Hika Elliot, and Stormers tighthead Brok Harris.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Former England international Danny Cipriani starts at fly-half, with Gareth Simpson in the No.9 jersey and Wales international Owen Williams filling a second playmaker role at inside centre.

And the Barbarians’ back-three is full of pace and power with England’s Marland Yarde and Zach Kibirige set to start on the wings, with Wales international Jonah Holmes completing the line-up at full-back.

A limited number of tickets remain for the fixture, starting from £22 adult / £8 junior*. Click here to purchase now.

Barbarians team: 15 Jonah Holmes; 14 Zach Kibirige, 13 Luther Burrell, 12 Owen Williams, 11 Marland Yarde; 10 Danny Cipriani, 9 Gareth Simpson; 1 Murray McCallum, 2 Hika Elliot, 3 Brok Harris; 4 Graham Kitchener, 5 Elliott Stooke; 6 Ben Morris, 7 Olly Robinson, 8 Tom Wood (c)

Replacements: 16 Tevita Ikanivere, 17 Ben Harris, 18 Elliot Millar-Mills, 19 Lloyd Ashley, 20 Will Boyde, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Mali Hingano, 23 Perry Humphreys

Related topics:

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.