London Irish v Northampton Saints: Confirmed team news for Saturday's game at the Twickenham Stoop

Nick Isiekwe will start at the StoopNick Isiekwe will start at the Stoop
Nick Isiekwe will start at the Stoop
Nick Isiekwe and Shaun Adendorff will make their Saints debuts against London Irish at the Twickenham Stoop on Saturday (kick-off 2pm).

Isiekwe and Adendorff will both start, having arrived from Saracens and Aurillac respectively this summer.

Saints have opted to really shake things up after last Sunday's disappointing 34-21 defeat to Wasps at Franklin's Gardens.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Lewis Ludlam skippers the side for the second time in his career, but he is only one of five players to retain his place from last weekend.

George Furbank, Alex Mitchell, Francois van Wyk and Paul Hill also start for the second time in as many matches.

Mike Haywood is back after welcoming his second son into the world last weekend, and he is joined in the pack by Alex Moon and Jamie Gibson, who returned to the club after initially leaving in June.

The back line has a fresh feel with speedy wings Tom Collins and Ryan Olowofela, who is making his first Premiership appearance, getting some game time.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Rory Hutchinson and Matt Proctor are the centre pairing, with James Grayson steering the ship from fly-half.

Scrum-half Tom James, who joined from Doncaster Knights this summer, could make his debut from the bench.

And there could be first Premiership appearances for centre Reuben Bird-Tulloch and No.8 Tui Uru, who are also among the replacements.

Alex Coles (ankle), Ollie Sleightholme (hamstring), Connor Tupai (wrist), Alex Waller (Achilles), Tom Wood (pulmonary embolism).

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

London Irish have included six graduates from the club’s Academy in their starting 15, with Jack Cooke, Theo Brophy Clews, Matt Williams, Ollie Hassell-Collins, Ben Loader and Tom Homer all selected.

Allan Dell and Ollie Hoskins start either side of the front row, with Matt Cornish rewarded with his first start for the club after impressing from the replacements last weekend.

George Nott and Sebastian de Chaves combine in the second row.

Cooke is named at blindside flanker and Blair Cowan at openside flanker, the latter captaining the side.

Albert Tuisue retains his place in the No.8 jersey.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Ben Meehan partners Paddy Jackson in the half-backs and Brophy Clews and Williams form the centre partnership.

Hassell-Collins and Loader are named on the wings, with Homer, making his first appearance since re-joining the club, at full-back.

London Irish: Homer; Loader, Williams, Brophy Clews, Hassell-Collins; Jackson, Meehan; Dell, Cornish, Hoskins; Nott, de Chaves; Cooke, Cowan (c), Tuisue.

Replacements: Matu’u, Goodrick-Clarke, Kepu, Donnell, Ioane, Phipps, Atkins, Neal.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Saints: Furbank; Olowofela, Proctor, Hutchinson, Collins; Grayson, Mitchell; van Wyk, Haywood, Hill; Moon, Isiekwe; Gibson, Ludlam (c), Adendorff.

Replacements: Marshall, Hobbs-Awoyemi, Painter, Bean, Uru, James, Bird-Tulloch, Tuala.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.