Town bowlers go close in cup clash

Share this article

DAVENTRY Town Bowls Club was well represented in the Harris Cup entering three rinks.

Although two rinks failed to qualify for the quarter finals, one rink, skipped by Daventry’s Duggie Mitchell, reached the final only losing by 10 shots to 5.

The long-established Harris Cup competition organised by the Northamptonshire Vice-Presidents Bowling Association, and sponsored by MotorVogue, Kingsthorpe, Northampton saw play taking place throughout the day at Kettering Lodge BC; Wellingborough BC; Northampton Whyte Melville BC; and Rushden Town BC.

The top two rinks from each venue then played the quarter finals at Rushden Town BC, the home club of VP’s chairman Roy Cave, in the evening, followed by the semi-finals and final.

Results of the final sessions were: Quarter finals: 1. Rick Hayes/Adge Smith/Ken Marshall/Duggie Mitchell (Kislingbury and Daventry Town) beat Dave Wigley/Dick Howell/Trevor Denny/Neil Gould (Earls Barton) 10-2 shots.

2. Mick Donohoe/Graham Alsop/Tony Burns/Colin Jones (Kingsthorpe) beat Les Johnson/David Bailey/Malc Mattinson/Terry Gallagher (Thrapston and Corby Forest) 7-6 shots.

3. Pete Woodhams/George Willmott/Vic Wallace/Dave Stewart (Irchester) beat Dennis Collins/Richard Horrell/Gerry Sharp/Walt Winsor (Thrapston and Wellingborough) 6-5 shots.

4. Malc Paul/Dave Rayson/Matt Pownall/John Haines (Corby Forest, Thrapston and Desborough) beat Richard Smart/George Blackwell/Richard Paintin/Brian Tipler (Earls Barton) 7-6 shots.

Semi-finals: 1. Duggie Mitchell’s rink beat Dave Stewart’s rink 9-3 shots.

2. John Haines’ rink beat Colin Jones’ rink 8-6 shots.

Final: Malcolm Paul/Dave Rayson/Matt Pownall/John Haines beat Rick Hayes/Adge Smith/Ken Marshall/Duggie Mitchell 10-5 shots.

At the conclusion the winners’ and runner’s up trophies were presented by Mark Hawtin, representing the sponsors MotorVogue, Kingsthorpe Road, Northampton.