Daventry swimmers show impressive form

Share this article

A TOTAL of 13 personal best times were recorded by Daventry swimmers at the 2011 Wilkinson Sword Trophy Diddy Gala at the Waendel Centre.

Swimmers aged 9yrs/unders, 10yrs and 11yrs were competing for the ‘Wilkinson Sword’ which is a most coveted title to win.

Since the inception of this county competition 32 years ago, Northampton Swimming Club have won on every occasion.

But over the past couple of years they have been run close, mainly due to the fact swimmers from other county clubs have the opportunity to take part in extra training sessions through the Junior County Development squad talent pathway. This is organised and run by Northampton SC coaching staff, together with assistance from coaches from the other clubs.

Result: 1st Northampton SC 149 points; 2nd Kettering ASC 130 points; 3rd Rushden ASC 105 points; 4th Wellingborough ASC 90 points; 5th Daventry Dolphins SC 58 points.

Despite coming fifth, Daventry Dolphins head coach was delighted with the performances of all their swimmers as by comparison with last year’s results the equivalent times in 24 events were faster.

Statistics show that last year, the Dolphins failed to score points in 11 events due to lack of swimmers or for technical disqualifications.

With no 11-year-old boys available for this competition, the team were reliant on the 10 years to swim their own age group events and then swim up.

Two second places were achieved by: Aleicia Smith 9yrs/ under 50m backstroke (pb) and Emily Smith-Williams 11yrs 50m breast stroke (pb).

Four third places were achieved by: Keely Saville 9yrs/under 50m free; Emily Sharp 10yrs 50m butterfly (pb); Girls 9yrs medley relay team: Back - Aleicia Smith; Breast- Rachel Coates; Fly - Annabel Murphy; Free - Keely Saville; Girls 10yrs medley relay team: Back - Hannah MacCaig; Breast - Katie Cox; Fly – Emily Sharp; Free - Bea Bridge.

The team were: Tom Other, Austin Evans, Chris D’Agostino, Crawford Wright, Lewis Putland, Luke Putland, Thomas Stevens, Kian Saville, David Mee, Matthew Jordan, Mungo Bridge, Rachel Coates, Hannah MacCaig, Emily Smith-Williams, Aleicia Smith, Annabel Murphy,/ Keely Saville, Bea Bridge, Ellie Davies, Emily Sharp, Millie Daniels and Katie Cox.

In the junior age groups, the next team competition will be the Leicester Diddy League (for swimmers aged nine to 12 years) on Saturday, April 9, Saturday, May 14 and Saturday, June 25.

n The club is always on the look out for new swimmers, especially younger boys. Club membership is about two thirds girls to one third boys.

Contact the club secretary Mrs Lesley Sharp for further details: 01327 876873 or by visiting the club website: www.daventrydolphins.co.uk