Darts league presentation night

Share this article

THE Daventry Darts League recently held its annual presentation night where awards for the 2011 Summer and 2011/12 Winter Leagues were handed out. As in recent years, there was another excellent turnout, with most teams supporting the event.

The night began with the Winter League Divisional KO Cup finals being played. In the Division One competition it was Slim Jims who beat Long Buckby FC 4-2. The Division Two final saw a comfortable 6-1 win for Daventry Workers B over Dun Cow. This means both Slim Jims and DWMC B completed their respective league and KO Cup double.

After the KO Cup finals had completed one of the boards was opened up for the “Halve-It” charity competition which raised money for the Dantre Hospital Palliative Care Ward. This event was eventually won by Paul Butler and raised a total of £170.

Although this was split between the charity and the winner, Paul generously donated his half to the Danetre Hospital Palliative Care Ward - a fantastic gesture which was much appreciated.

Entertainment for the night was supplied by D & A, who provided a mix of covers from several decades.

During the entertainment interval the presentations took place.

This began with charity donations of money raised over the past couple of seasons through the Dennis Mytton memorial competition, the Charity Cup and other ad-hoc events.

Friends of Danetre Hospital received a total of £750, with a cheque being received by Arthur Pritchard and Alf Goodridge.

The Warwickshire and Northants Air Ambulance service received a cheque for £500, received by current Daventry mayor Ron Fox.

The Blackpool Victoria Hospital Cardiology Unit will also be receiving a cheque for £750.

Danetre Hospital Palliative Care Ward will receive £500 plus the £170 from the “Halve-It” event and Patsy Hatfield received a cheque on their behalf.

Following the charity presentations, Mick Doney (MC for the evening as always) began by thanking the league organisers before running through the prize-giving.

Teams receiving trophies were Wheatsheaf Braunston (The Plate winners), Caseys (runners-up in the summer league, winter league division 1 and the Charity Cup), Con Club A (Charity Cup winners), Dun Cow (Division Two KO Cup runners-up), DWMC B (winners of Division Two and Division Two KO Cup), Long Buckby FC (Division One KO Cup runners-up), Slim Jims (summer league, winter league Division One and Division One KO Cup winners) and The Peppermill (Division Two runners-up).

Individual trophies went to Rich Denis (Mixed Pairs runner-up, Pairs winner, Players Championship winner), Lyn Harris (Mixed Pairs runner-up), Dave Harris (mixed pairs winner), Rachel Harris (Mixed Pairs and Pairs winner), Clive Hart and Paul Butler (Pairs runners-up), Cheryl Astill (Ladies’ Singles runner-up), Sam Harris (Ladies Singles winner), Rich Ludlow (Men’s Singles runner-up) and Ray Jones (Men’s Singles winner). Congratulations to all our winners over the past year.