Town captain to leave Communications Park

DAVENTRY Town will be without last season’s central defender and club captain Aaron Parkinson when facing four new clubs in the Southern League Division One Central as hostilities recommence in mid-August.

Parkinson, who also wore the captain’s armband at both Leamington and at his home club Woodford United, is expected to rejoin former Town manager Ady Fuller and his assistant Paul Lamb at Banbury United.

Meanwhile Daventry’s latest management team of Mark Kinsella and Darran Foster will unveil a whole raft of new signings in a week’s time.

The Communications Park club will be pitted against four Central Division newcomers in Guildford City, Godalming Town, Thatcham Town and Royston Town when the new campaign gets underway.

In taking on both Guildford and Godalming the Town will face considerably increased travelling costs as both clubs are based more than 100 miles from Daventry who will become the division’s most northerly club apart from nearby Rugby Town.

Guildford have twice headed the Combined Counties League but were controversially denied promotion 12 months ago because of ground deficiencies. For their part Royston headed the Spartan South Midlands League with 104 points.

Both clubs could develop into promotion prospects although perennial bridesmaids Slough Town will again start as warm favourites to lift the Central Division title.

Godalming have been moved sideways from the Ryman League’s Division One South with Thatcham (near Newbury) facing a similar switch from the Southern League’s own South and West section.

Daventry who will do battle on a newly-seeded pitch complete with an underlay of sand (200 tons of it) and lorry loads of best quality top soil face opposition from 21 teams.

The line-up is: AFC Hayes, Ashford Town, Aylesbury, Barton Rovers, Beaconsfield SYCOB, Biggleswade Town, Burnham, Chalfont St. Peter, Chertsey Town, Fleet Town, Godalming Town, Guildford City, Leighton Town, North Greenford United, Northwood, Royston Town, Rugby Town, Slough Town, Thatcham Town, Uxbridge and Woodford United.