Confident Holmes eyes Arsenal clash ahead of FA Cup draw

Cobblers attacker Ricky Holmes is hoping to draw his boyhood club Arsenal in this evening’s FA Cup third round draw, which takes place at 7pm on BBC Two.
Ricky Holmes was central to Saturday's turnaround against NorthwichRicky Holmes was central to Saturday's turnaround against Northwich
Ricky Holmes was central to Saturday's turnaround against Northwich

Northampton are ball 50 in the hat for the draw which could see Chris Wilder’s side come up against the likes of Manchester United, Chelsea, Liverpool or Arsenal.

Town reached this stage after they survived a major scare against non-league Northwich Victoria on Saturday.

Trailing 2-0 after 80 minutes, goals from Sam Hoskins, Jason Taylor and Dominic Calvert-Lewin inspired the League Two side to a dramatic fightback.

Having come on as a second half substitute, Holmes was key to Northampton’s revival and now he’s eyeing up a clash against Arsenal.

He said: “I’d take Arsenal. I’m an Arsenal fan so I’d definitely be happy with them but we feel we can beat Championship teams.

“We went to Coventry who are a very good side and turned them over so I’m not too fussed.”

Full list of third round draw numbers: 1 AFC Bournemouth, 2 Arsenal, 3 Aston Villa, 4 Birmingham, 5 Blackburn, 6 Bolton, 7 Brentford, 8 Brighton, 9 Bristol City, 10 Burnley, 11 Cardiff City, 12 Charlton, 13 Chelsea, 14 Crystal Palace, 15 Derby, 16 Everton, 17 Fulham, 18 Huddersfield, 19 Hull, 20 Ipswich, 21 Leeds, 22 Leicester, 23 Liverpool, 24 Manchester City, 25 Manchester Utd, 26 Middlesbrough, 27 MK Dons, 28 Newcastle, 29 Norwich, 30 Nottingham Forest, 31 Preston, 32 QPR, 33 Reading, 34 Rotherham, 35 Sheffield Wednesday, 36 Southampton, 37 Stoke, 38 Sunderland, 39 Swansea, 40 Tottenham, 41 Watford, 42 West Brom, 43 West Ham, 44 Wolves, 45 Bradford City, 46 Newport County, 47 Peterborough Utd, 48 Portsmouth, 49 Eastleigh, 50 Northampton Town, 51 Exeter City, 52 Doncaster Rovers, 53 Grimsby/Shrewsbury, 54 Yeovil, 55 Bury, 56 Carlisle Utd, 57 Leyton Orient/Scunthorpe, 58 Wycombe, 59 Colchester Utd, 60 Chesterfield/Walsall, 61 Sheffield Utd, 62 Salford/Hartlepool, 63 Dagenham & Redbridge/Whitehawk, 64 Oxford Utd.