England call for Northamptonshire star Willey

David Willey
David Willey

Northamptonshire all-rounder David Willey has been called up by the England Lions.

He has been included in a 12-man squad - which will be captained by Sussex’s Luke Wright - to take on Bangladesh A later this month.

They will play in three one-day games starting on August 20 at The County Ground, Bristol.

England’s limited overs coach Ashley Giles will be in charge of the side which includes three Lions debutants.

Jamie Overton of Somerset and Sussex paceman Chris Jordan - who has enjoyed a fine county season in 2013 taking over 50 first-class wickets - are the others along with Willey.

The side will also include a number of players who have represented England at a senior level across different formats.

These include the captain Wright, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Michael Carberry, Ben Stokes, Boyd Rankin and Nottinghamshire batsman James Taylor.

National selector Geoff Miller said: “We are delighted to reward this Lions team with an opportunity to impress the selectors ahead of a number of forthcoming ODI series.

“Many of this squad have been in or around England, Lions, EPP or PEPP squads before, so it is a great chance for them to push for places for the England ODI games later this summer and also this coming winter.

“Looking further ahead, we are also keen to build a strong platform for the 2015 World Cup, so opportunities such as this play a big part in giving the coaches an opportunity to assess the levels of these players first hand.”

The ECB have also confirmed Northamptonshire will host an England Lions match against Australia.

They County were due to play the tourists on August 16 and 17 at Wantage Road but their qualification for the Friends Life t20 Finals Day means they are now unavailable and a Lions team will fulfil the fixture.

The team for this will be announced early next week.

England Lions: Luke Wright (Sussex), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Danny Briggs (Hampshire), Jos Buttler (Somerset), Michael Carberry (Hampshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Jamie Overton (Somerset), Boyd Rankin (Warwickshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), James Vince (Hampshire), David Willey (Northamptonshire).