Champions in commanding mood

Share this article

CHAMPIONS Byfield completed a rout of newly-promoted Thornborough on Saturday.

Byfield posted a massive 328 for five, Steve Clayton 128, Andy Watts 80 and Robert Oliver 65.

Thornborough were bowled out for 228 with pacemen Jake Heath taking four wickets and Sam Brough three wickets.

Willoughby achieved a narrow win in Division One but a first win of the season all the same after edging out Fenny Compton.

Batting first, the visitors continued their struggles with the bat, making only 125 before the last wicket fell. Tom Hill with 43 and Graham Hallam making 26 the top scorers.

In reply, three wickets apiece for Martin Nichols (three-17), Lee Johnson (three-37) and Hill (three-39) just saw the visitors home, bowling Fenny out 13 runs short of their target.

Anthony Buckingham top scoring with 19.

And in Division Three, in stark contrast, the less said about 10-man Willoughby A’s afternoon the better, as they were hammered for the second week running.

Some abject catching and fielding from the hosts were contributory in visitors Bodicote A racking up a massive total.

The reply with the bat was merely a token gesture as the hosts were simply batting for any batting points they could yield but they failed again to reach close to three figures, and suffered another heavy and miserable defeat.

Results round-up:

Premier Division

Byfield (328 for five – 20 pts) beat Thornborough (223 all out – seven pts) by 105 runs.

Byfield: Steve Clayton 128, Andy Watts 80 and Rob Oliver 65.

Thornborough: Stuart Parker 83, Aiden Birch 45, Jake Heath four-52, Sam Brough three-54 and Steve Clayton two-13.

Syresham (272 all out – 20 pts) beat Woodford Halse (175 for four – nine pts) by 97 runs.

Syresham: Darren Beckett 61, Dan Archer 49, George Brock 30 and David Wiltshire three-44.

Woodford Halse: Chris Prophet Jnr. 101 n.o., Bradley Ward 23 and Dan Archer two-20.

Division One

Willoughby (125 all out – 20 pts) beat Fenny Compton (112 all out – six pts) by 13 runs.

Willoughby: Tom Hill 43, Graham Hallam 26, Derek Maries three-16, Darren Deeley three-20.

Fenny Compton: Anthony Buckingham 19, Adrian Welsby 16, Jamie Vadasz 17, Martin Nichols three-17, Lee Johnson three-37, Tom Hill three-39.

Afro Caribbean (263 for five – 20 pts) beat Preston Capes (237 all out – seven pts) by 26 runs.

Afro Caribbean: Michael Penna 133, Amir Ali 39 and Anthony Franks two-54.

Preston Capes: Alex Strong 108, Dave Holmes 50, Tony McCourtie five-55.

Division Two

Byfield ‘A’ (140 for seven – 20 pts) beat Hanslope (139 for nine – five pts) by three wickets. Byfield ‘A’: Jason Andrews 61. Hanslope: Will Giffin 51 and Ross Coles 30.

Division Three

Bodicote ‘A’ (308 for eight – 20 pts) beat Willoughby ‘A’ (72 all out – five pts) by 236 runs

Bodicote ‘A’: Paul Rogers 95, Craig Lynes 49, Adam Harris 49 n.o., Mark Smith 29 and Abbas Mohammed three-79.

Willoughby ‘A’: Karl Harland 19, Abbas Mohammed 16 and Wasim Hussain five-21.

Gayton v Preston Capes ‘A’ – no play (10 pts each)

Division Four

Syresham ‘A’ (115 for six – 20 pts) beat Woodford Halse ‘A’ (114 for nine – six pts) by four wickets.

Syresham ‘A’: Darren Trotter 46 n.o., Scott Andrew 22 n.o., Chris Collins 18 and Adam Mack three-29 and Terry Hulme two-47.

Woodford Halse ‘A’: John Ward 45 n.o., Paul Shrimpton 16, Matt Cooper three-15, Scott Andrew three-38 and Darren Trotter three-40.

Maids Moreton (133 for one – 20 pts) beat Boddington (129 for six – four pts) by nine wickets.

Maids Moreton: Gordon Fraser 66 n.o., Paul Stairs 58 n.o.

Boddington: Sam Post 39, Richard Post 29, Paul Stairs three-26 and Gordon Fraser two-36.

Braunston Paddox (158 for one – 20 pts) beat Radway ‘A’ (154 all out – five pts) by nine wickets.

Braunston: Ryan Spriggs 95 n.o., Pete Sarson 38 n.o.

Radway ‘A’: Ollie Randall 32, Christian Squire 31, George Elsby 27, Zane Doe four-12, Adam O’Connor four-39.

Division Five

Hinton ‘A’ (143 for eight – 20 pts) beat Braunston Paddox ‘A’ (81 all out – six pts) by 62 runs

Hinton in the Hedges ‘A’: Ollie Lynam 33, Adam Paris 22, Bob Biddell two-five, Richard Hunt two-23.

Braunston Paddox ‘A’: Chris Lodge 28, Alex Smart three-31, Oliver Jeffs two-13, Will Peel-Yates two-16.

Flecknoe v Preston Bissett ‘A’ – no play (10 pts each).