Away day ends in an impressive six-wicket win

Share this article

WILLOUGHBY enjoyed a good trip into North Oxfordshire on Saturday, returning from Bodicote with a well-earned six-wicket success.

The home side batted first and set the visitors a useful target to chase. Aided by at times some lack-lustre fielding, Bodicote reached 167 for seven, with WCC’s James Barnwell taking the bowling plaudits returning figures of four for 36.

In reply, Willoughby were in early bother again, but skipper Martin Nichols came to the crease in the fourth over and defiantly remained there throughout to see his side to the close.

He was joined by Stuart Hall and together they built an unbeaten winning partnership. Nichols just reached his half century not out, while Hall was at his destructive best hitting 80 n.o. to see WCC to victory.

Other results for Saturday, July 2

Premier Division

Byfield (278 for eight – 20 pts) beat Hinton in the Hedges (189 for eight – eight pts) by 89 runs

Byfield: Jon Carr 91 n.o.., Duncan Harris 31, Paul Wills 27, Mark Mounsdon three-47, Mark Linford two-50. Richard Wills two-66

Hinton in the Hedges: Steve Cone 36, Ollie Prendergast 36, Mark Mounsdon 32 n.o., Jake Heath four-32

Paul Wills two-40.

Evenley (216 for seven – 20 pts) beat Woodford Halse (178 all out – seven pts) by 38 runs.

Evenley: Anthony Romaine 79, Dave Holden 51 n.o., Ben Patterson 29, Rupesh Sarvankar four-39.

Woodford Halse: Rupesh Sarvankar 36, Chris Prophet (Jnr.) 31, Kevin Bunting 23, Tom Henderson 29.

Ben Patterson three-seven and Anthony Romaine three-47.

Division One

Willoughby (168 for four – 20 pts) beat Bodicote (167 for nine – five pts) by six wickets.

Willoughby: Martin Nichols 50 n.o., Stuart Hall 80 n.o., Chris Buckingham three-62.

Bodicote: Dave Allen 51, Dave Cronin 32 n.o., Dean Watts 23, James Barnwell four-36.

Preston Capes (129 all out – 20 pts) beat Fenny Compton (81 all out – five pts) by 48 runs.

Preston Capes: Ben Strong 31, Matt Daynes 30, Simon Franks 24, Derek Maries four-22, Andy Waller four-35.

Fenny Compton: Craig Harris 41, Matt Daynes five-28 and Ian Holmes three-25.

Division Two

Greens Norton (166 for four – 20 pts) beat Byfield ‘A’ (164 for nine – five pts) by six wickets.

Greens Norton: Steve Jones 50, Andre Bodily 25 n.o., Pete Allen 25 n.o., Lloyd Parkinson three-54.

Byfield ‘A’ : Rob Lees 31, Lloyd Parkinson 28, Dave Jobbins 28, Andre Bodily three-43, Steve Jones two-27.

Division Three

Preston Capes ‘A’ (133 for seven – 20 pts) beat Bodicote ‘A’ (131 for eight – seven pts) by three wickets.

Preston Capes ‘A’: Henry Hedges 54, Callum Garwood 18, Ed Pointon 15 and Will Reeve 15.

Wasim Hussain three-45, Paul Rogers three-47.

Bodicote ‘A’: Shaun Harris 48, Sam Reeve three-17, Kyle Kalym three-38.

Charlton (324 for five – 20 pts) beat Gayton (63 all out -three pts) by 261 runs.

Charlton: Ryan Knight 120, Ahtaram Muhammed 100, Ollie Johnson 37 n.o., John Bobsin two-55. Gayton: Mike Shirman 25, Ellis Rush two-two.

Gawcott and Hillesden (20 pts) beat Willoughby ‘A’ (- 10 pts) Willoughby failed to raise a side.

Division Four

Radway ‘A’ (166 all out – 20 pts) beat Boddington (105 all out – eight pts) by 61 runs.

Radway ‘A’: Ollie Randall 50, Tom Heynes 26, Calvin Jones seven-35, Nathan Jones two-20.

Boddington: Graham Parrish 28 n.o., Steve Kent 25, Ben Pick three-15, James Bryan three-25.

Woodford Halse ‘A’ (269 for eight – 20 pts) beat Grange Park ‘A’ (198 for seven – nine pts) by 71 runs.

Woodford Halse ‘A’: Anthony Powell 126, Dean Haynes 43, Paul Shrimpton 36, Simon McKay four-62.

Grange Park: Mark Bury 81 n.o., Shahid Amin 43, H.Amin three n.o, (nine years old), Dean Haynes three-22.

Braunston Paddox (242 for eight – 20 pts) beat Dunchurch and Bilton ‘A’ (50 all out – five pts) by 192 runs.

Braunston Paddox: Rowan Gutteridge 74, Michael Hewitt 52, Sam Penhall 23, Ryan Spriggs 21

Brian Mattock five-70, Tom Ewer thre-52. Dunchurch and Bilton ‘A’: Tom Ewer 27, Darren Cox four-33, Zane Doe three-11, Shaun Harnett two-four.

Division Five

Preston Bissett ‘A’ (228 for seven – 20 pts) beat Braunston Paddox ‘A’ (119 all out - six pts) by 109 runs. Preston Bissett ‘A’: Dominic Mochn 83, Chris Cox 69 n.o., Tim Jones 30, Arthur Bryant 21, Alan Jellis five-60.

Braunston Paddox ‘A’: Dick Stapley 19, Ross Spriggs 16, Chris Lodge 15, Ed Selby-Lowndes four-21

Flecknoe: (191 for six – 20 pts) beat Silverstone ‘A’ (159 for six- eight pts) by 32 runs. Flecknoe: Dave Johnson 40 n.o., Dave Annetts 32, Erling Lindoe 26, Macaulay Copping three-57. Silverstone ‘A’: Dominic Barker 41, Peter Neil 30, Matt Binder three-33.

n Victory for the band of brothers – see page 75.