New police commissioner and councillors set to be elected as Daventry district goes to the polls

editorial image

Voters will head to the polls on Thursday next week to elect district councillors, the new police and crime commissioner for the county, and some parish councils.

One third of the seats on Daventry District Council will be up for election.

There is one seat up for grabs on the 12 wards holding elections for DDC this year. The wards are: in Daventry Abbey North, Abbey South, Drayon and Hill. In the rest of the district: Barby and Kilsby, Braunston and Welton, Brixworth, Long Buckby, Ravensthorpe, Spratton, Weedon, and Woodford.

Conservative and Liberal Democrat candidates are standing in every ward. Labour has candidates everywhere other than Barby and Kilsby ward. UKIP is fielding candidates on Abbey North, Brixworth and Woodford wards. The Green Party has candidates standing in Brixworth and Spratton wards. There are also candidates with no party description standing on Drayton and Hill wards in Daventry.

Northamptonshire’s current police and crime commissioner (PCC) Adam Simmonds (Conservative) is to step down at the elections. There are three candidates to replace him: Labour’s Kevin McKeever, Stephen Mold for the Conservatives, and Sam Watts representing UKIP.

A total of 18 parish councils in the district had seats up for election this year, but only Braunston, Flore and Kilsby had enough nominations to require a poll to take place.

Polls open from 7am to 10pm on Thursday May 5. Votes for DDC will be counted over night into Friday May 6. The count for the PCC takes place on Friday May 6 in Kettering. The count for the parishes will take place on the afternoon of Monday, May 9.