New Daventry constituency to include parts of Leicestershire

Share this article

A NEW Parliamentary constituency for Daventry, drawn up under Government proposals, could include areas of Leicestershire.

Today (Tuesday, September 13) the Boundary Commission for England has published its proposals for a shake-up of constituencies designed to reduce the number of MPs at Westminster.

The new Daventry constituency would include the town, and stretch southwards to include Braunston and Flore wards. To the east it would include Brixworth and Moulton.

However, unusually, it would stretch into neighbouring Leicestershire to include all of Lutterworth and even villages as far away as Broughton Astley to give a total electorate of 73,394.

Those Leicestershire areas are currently part of the South Leicestershire seat, which in 2010 was won by Andrew Robathan for the Conservatives with 49.5 per cent of the vote. The Lib Dems got 21 per cent, Labour 20.9 per cent, the BNP five per cent, and UKIP got 3.6 per cent.

In 2010 Daventry was won by Chris Heaton-Harris, Conservative, with 56.5 per cent of the votes. The Lib Dems took 19.4 per cent, Labour 15.8 per cent, UKIP 4.5 per cent, the English Democrats 2.3 per cent, and the Green Party 1.5 per cent.

Villages in the wards of Weedon, Woodford, Byfield, Harpole and Grange, and Heyfords and Bugbrooke would form part of a new South Northamptonshire constituency.