Election time in the Daventry district

IT COULD be all change at Daventry District Council (DDC) when elections take place next week.

Changes made by the Boundary Comission have been made which means the number of councillors sitting on DDC has been reduced from 38 to 36 seats across 16 wards in the district.

This has meant that every single ward will be up for election on Thursday May 3.

There are currently 34 Conservative councillors, two Labour councillors and two Liberal Democrat councillors.

A total of eight current district councillors will not be standing at this election.

These include Janet McCarthy, who was Labour councillor for Braunston Ward and Brian Lomax from the Liberal Democrats and represented the people of Barby and Kilsby Ward.

Conservative councillors Wendy Amos for Flore Ward, Pam Booker in Clipston Ward, David Griffin at Woodford Halse Ward, Thelma Hills on Hill Ward in Daventry, Ian Pasley Tyler for the Ravensthorpe Ward and David White from Weedon Ward will also be standing down.

To find out about the candidates standing in the election, see this week’s Daventry Express.