East Haddon celebrate derby win

Buckby bowler Rahul Krishnamoorthy
Buckby bowler Rahul Krishnamoorthy
Share this article

A HALF-CENTURY undefeated knock from Stephan Joubert and Michael Hale’s 32 not out helped East Haddon to an eight-wicket win over West Haddon in their derby clash in Division Three.

In reply, West Haddon’s Ed Harmon (47) added a useful contribution to his side’s 138 all out.

Stephan Joubert (four-22), Stuart Keeping (three-28), Matt Southam (two-30) and Michael Hale (one-25) won the bowling plaudits for East Haddon.

In the same division, Heyford Firsts enjoyed a four-wicket win over St Crispin and Ryelands Firsts.

Heyford’s Ross Cambray returned bowling figures of three-33 in a 15-over opening spell.

There was an impressive batting partnership between Martyn Standish (42) and Martin Quenby (38) for the fourth wicket. Heyford’s Rob Pardon took three-60 at the end of the innings.

A successful opening partnership between Cambray (48) and Shaun Boyson (66) was another highlight.

The winning runs were struck in the last over with two balls remaining, despite a four-46 from Ashley Starmer.

Long Buckby Firsts suffered a 52-run defeat at the hands of Stony Stratford Seconds – thanks to useful innings from the visiting batsmen.

The victory in Division Two followed Tom Moore’s excellent 77, John Lambe (46), Chris Bolton (33), Michael Avery (29) and an undefeated 17 not out from Chris Swain.

In reply, Sam Bevin made 46, Jack Mousley 29 and Warren Courtney a useful 26 in a Buckby total of 177 all out.

Highlights of the bowlers were Andrew Ellemore who returned bowling figures of five-36, Jamie Baxter two-nine and for Buckby Gary Church two-39.

In Division Five, Kettering Town Seconds beat Ashby Timken Firsts by 38 runs.

There were useful innings from Kettering’s Dale Munn (44 n.o), Rob Starsmore (37), Guiseppe Massimo (36) and Chris Gorrod (22) in their 175 total.

In reply Ashby’s James Ball made (41), Zaheer Iqbal (26) and John Burdett (22) in their side’s 137 all out total.

David York (five-17) and Chris Gorrod (three-18) were also impressive among the bowlers.

Bugbrooke Firsts gained a winning draw against Rothwell Town Seconds in Division Six.

Bugbrooke’s Keith Halford (31), Liam Saunders (27) and Richard Hardwick (25) helped along the run-rate.

In reply, Rothwell’s Julian Marlow (31) provided a useful contribution in a low-scoring total of 107.

Keith Halford (three-16) and Derrick Sanya (three-28) returned impressive bowling figures for Bugbrooke. Ricky Spreadbury (three-45) and Ryan Spreadbury (two-42) were also noteworthy.

Badby Firsts started their Division Six campaign at Longroods with a comfortable six-wicket win over ON Fourths.

Winning the toss, Badby’s bowlers applied early pressure and wickets fell steadily.

Stu Bonthuys returned three-22, Jack Fuller two-22 and Paul Cooper two-25.

Some lusty late order hitting saw ONs into three figures and setting some sort of total, but an opening stand of 67 featuring Sabir Khawaja (44) laid the platform for Badby to achieve their target in only 30 overs. Ali Reid finishing unbeaten on 26.

In a re-organised Division 14 match, Badby Seconds travelled to Brixworth, who set a challenging total of 202-five.

Pick of the Badby bowlers was James Maplethorpe who sent down his 13 overs for two-48. In reply, Badby lost three early key wickets, but then a stand of 90 between Chaddy Harris (59) and Scott Baxter (42) in quick time saw Badby in with a renewed chance of victory.

But despite the best efforts of Bryan Farmer (13) and Chris Archer (13) in the lower order, Badby came up 30 runs short.

Kislingbury Temperance Firsts beat Gretton Firsts by four wickets in Division Six.

And in Division Seven, East Haddon Seconds enjoyed a two-wicket victory over Cogenhoe Firsts with Nick Whorton (41), Matt Warren (38 n.o), Joe Oliver (22) and Dayne Manderfield (20) helping along the run-rate.

Also in Division Seven, Yelvertoft Firsts beat Desborough Town Seconds by 76 runs. Toft scored 219 runs for the loss of eight wickets in 45 overs. Yelvertoft’s John Eccles scored 72 runs and skipper James Martin 46 runs.

For Desborough, David Peel took three for 39 in nine overs.

Desborough were all out for 143 in 38.2 overs. For Desborough James Peel scored 48.

Martin Lewis opened with a devastating spell of quick bowling to take the first three wickets. He finished with four-40 in 11 overs.

Spinner Paul Brown turned the ball prodigiously to take three for 28 in 11 overs.

This was a far better performance by Yelvertoft than last week.

Other results: St Michael 74 (Bugbrooke) Firsts were beaten by Bold Dragoon by four wickets with David Francis (30 n.o), Mario Wickremasinghe (26) and Jonny Ashley (24) in St Michaels’ 107 all out.

Long Buckby Seconds had an easy 10-wicket win against Burton Latimer Thirds – thanks largely to a massive undefeated century knock from Nick Smith (114 n.o).

In Division 10, Heyford Seconds beat Guilsborough Firsts by 22 runs.

Highlights were Tim Nuttall’s four-43 for Guilsborough and Alan Lovell’s four-30 and Dion Harrison’s four for 15 for Heyford.

Bugbrooke Seconds beat Old Seconds by two wickets.