County council election results

There was delight for the Conservative party as they were victorious in two by-elections for seats on Northamptonshire County Council.

The elections were held for seats in the Braunston/Crick ward and the Brixworth ward and followed the resignations of Steve Slatter and Catherine Boardman respectively.

Malcolm Longley was elected as the county councillor for the Braunston/Crick ward with 1019 votes, beating Labour’s Abigail Campbell by 30 votes. UKIPs Ruaraidh Macanndrais was third with 506 votes. The turnout was just under 27 per cent.

There was a more comprehensive victory for the other seat as Cecile Irving-Swift was elected with 1,297 votes. UKIPs Stephen Pointer was second with 500 votes, ahead of Robert McNally of Labour with 248 votes, Stephen Whiffen for the Green Party on 228 and the Lib Dem’s Daniel Jones finishing fifth with 69 votes. The turnout was 26.05 per cent.