Ceremony celebrates sporting successes

Share this article

There were plenty of winners as the Daventry District Sport Awards were presented last Thursday.

The event was hosted by Everyone Active, which operates Daventry Leisure Centre.

The winners at the sport awards

The winners at the sport awards

The awards were held at the leisure centre, hosted by BBC Radio Northampton presenter Martin Heath and presented by Phil Dowson, Northampton Saints and England rugby player.

Luke Parratt, contracts manager at Daventry Leisure Centre, said: “These awards showcase the great sporting talent that Daventry district has to offer, and we would like to thank the many residents, clubs and associations for their continued support.”

Jackson White Jnr won Local Sportsman of the Year while Local Sportswoman of the Year was Maree Jesson

Joe Watkins and Jessica Anderson were young sports men and women respectively.

Daventry Town FC took Team of the Year after reaching the FA Cup first round last season, while Duggie Mitchell took Sports Volunteer of the Year. Young Leader of the Year was Milli Aitken, while Secondary Sport School of the year was the Parker E-ACT Academy

Roger Woolgrove won a get active award with Kian Saville getting disabled sports achiever. Daventry Dolphins Swimming Club got the Community Club of the Year, while Dave Beresford was given a longtime contribution to sport award.