Coventry theatre announces new season

Robert Powell and Liza Goddard in Relatively Speaking
Robert Powell and Liza Goddard in Relatively Speaking
0
Have your say

Coventry’s Belgrade Theatre has announced full details of the shows to feature in its autumn 2016 season.

It begins in September with Roll Over Beethoven, which tells the story of how post-war England was transformed forever by American rock ‘n’ roll.

Bringing a blaze of neon colour to the monochrome streets of Blighty, the new musical is written and directed by Bob Eaton, who recently scored hit at the Belgrade with the 2-Tone musical Three Minute Heroes. The production will run for two weeks on the Belgrade main stage from Saturday, September 3, to Saturday, September 17.

It will be followed by the stage premiere production of Ostrich Boys from Saturday, September 10, to Saturday, September 24.

This coming-of-age tale tells the story of teenage pals Kenny, Sim and Blake, who together embark upon on epic mission to honour a friend’s life touched by tragedy.

Newly announced concert shows arriving this autumn include the celebrated off-Broadway production of Lennon – Through A Glass Onion on Friday, October 21, and Saturday, October 22. This will be followed by the return of Talon – The Best of the Eagles on Tuesday, November 8, and Chas and Dave – The Full Story Live on Wednesday, November 9. Paying tribute to the genius of the legendary David Bowie, Pop Up Bowie celebrates the life of one of music’s greatest recording artists on Saturday, November 12.

The Belgrade has also announced details of a number of touring productions visiting the theatre.

Fans of theatrical suspense can look forward to a new production of Emelyn Williams’ psychological thriller Night Must Fall running on the main stage from Wednesday, September 28, to Saturday, October 1.

This will be followed by Alan Ayckbourn’s classic comedy Relatively Speaking starring The Detectives Robert Powell and Bergerac’s Liza Goddard from Monday, October 31, to Saturday, November 5.

Running from Thursday, October 13, to Saturday, October 15, Paradise of the Assassins is a thought-provoking new drama from Theatre Accord produced in association with Tara Arts, one of the leading commissioners of multi-cultural theatre in the UK. Written a century ago by the polymath and Communist Abdul Halim Sharar, this hard-hitting tale of the price humans pay for Utopia has been adapted for the stage by award-winning director Anthony Clark.

There is also revival of cult sci-fi spoof musical Little Shop Of Horrors starring X-Factor favourite Rhydian Roberts from Wednesday, October 26, to Saturday, October 29.

Call 024 7655 3055 or visit www.belgrade.co.uk to book tickets and for more details.