Northampton Town handed York trip in opening game of new season

CURTAIN-RAISER - last season's opening game took the Cobblers to Rochdale. This year they travel to York City

CURTAIN-RAISER - last season's opening game took the Cobblers to Rochdale. This year they travel to York City

11
Have your say

The Cobblers will begin their 2013-14 Football League Two campaign with a trip to York City on Saturday August 3, and wrap it up against Oxford United at Sixfields on Saturday May 3.

The fixture list, published today, has handed Northampton supporters just one long midweek away trip - to Exeter City on Tuesday March 11.

Christmas games see Wycombe Wanderers in town on December 21, a Boxing Day trip to Burton Albion and a December 29 game against Portsmouth at Fratton Park.

Chesterfield visit Sixfields on New Year’s Day, with a trip to newly-promoted Newport County three days later.

Wycombe Wanderers provide the opposition on Easter Saturday (April 19) at Adams Park, with Portsmouth visiting Sixfields on Easter Monday (April 21).

The trip to Wimbledon on Saturday October 5 will represent the first meeting between the two sides at Kingsmeadow on a Saturday afternoon.

Full 2013-14 fixture list:

Sat Aug 3 York City A

Wed Aug 7 MK Dons H (Capital One Cup first round)

Sat Aug 10 Newport County H

Sat Aug 17 Southend United A

Sat Aug 24 Torquay United H

Sat Aug 31 Bristol Rovers A

Sat Sep 7 Scunthorpe United H

Sat Sep 14 Exeter City H

Sat Sep 21 Mansfield Town A

Sat Sep 28 Morecambe H

Sat Oct 5 AFC Wimbledon A

Sat Oct 12 Oxford United A

Sat Oct 19 Dagenham & Redbridge H

Tue Oct 22 Rochdale A

Sat Oct 26 Cheltenham Town H

Sat Nov 2 Plymouth Argyle A

Sat Nov 16 Fleetwood Town H

Sat Nov 23 Hartlepool United A

Tue Nov 26 Chesterfield A

Sat Nov 30 Accrington Stanley H

Sat Dec 14 Bury A

Sat Dec 21 Wycombe Wanderers H

Thu Dec 26 Burton Albion A

Sun Dec 29 Portsmouth A

Wed Jan 1 Chesterfield H

Sat Jan 4 Newport County A

Sat Jan 11 York City H

Sat Jan 18 Torquay United A

Sat Jan 25 Southend United H

Tue Jan 28 Rochdale H

Sat Feb 1 Cheltenham Town A

Sat Feb 8 Plymouth Argyle H

Sat Feb 15 Fleetwood Town A

Sat Feb 22 Hartlepool United H

Sat Mar 1 Bristol Rovers H

Sat Mar 8 Scunthorpe United A

Tue Mar 11 Exeter City A

Sat Mar 15 Mansfield Town H

Sat Mar 22 Morecambe A

Tue Mar 25 AFC Wimbledon H

Sat Mar 29 Bury H

Sat Apr 5 Accrington Stanley A

Sat Apr 12 Burton Albion H

Sat Apr 19 Wycombe Wanderers A

Mon Apr 21 Portsmouth H

Sat Apr 26 Dagenham & Redbridge A

Sat May 3 Oxford United H

What do you think to this season’s fixtures? Which games in particular are you looking forward to? Let us know using the comment facility below.