By-election results announced

Results have been announced for the two Daventry District Council by-elections.

Yelvertoft ward

Alan Edwin Chantler (The Conservative Party) - 382 votes (elected)

Hermione Jane Ainley (Liberal Democrats) - 97

Turnout: 33 per cent

Drayton ward

Chris Eddon (The Conservative Party) - 314 votes (elected)

Wendy Jane Randall (Labour Party) - 158

John Barry Lathan (Liberal Democrats) - 138

David Christopher Llewellyn Jones (British National Party) - 133

Steve Tubb (independent) - 129

Meg Price (The Socialist Alternative Candidate) - 55

Turnout: 19.6 per cent

In Yelvertoft ward the former incumbant Kay Hemmings (Conservative) stepped down, while in Drayton Terry Mullett (initially Conservative and then an independent) was disqualified from being a councillor after being convicted of benefit fraud in June this year.

Polling for both wards took place yesterday (Thursday, September 10).

The results do not affect the political make up of the council.

For more on the results see the Daventry Express on Thursday, September 17.